Introduction

St. John’s Lutheran Church is a vibrant community that dates back to 1903. For over 110 years, our church has been ministering to the needs of God’s people in and around the village of Wilmette. And while facilities and faces have changed over the years, one thing remains the same…our commitment to Christ, to one another, and to the betterment of our community.

Our church today is comprised of over 125 households who, along with a number of friends and recurring visitors, are actively involved in the many spiritual, educational, social and service ministries of our church, all led by our dedicated pastors, staff, and a strong corps of lay leaders.

Yet, despite our strong legacy of activity and accomplishment, some significant challenges still remain.

When our church building was first built in 1923, the parishioners wanted to make the church’s presence known here in Wilmette. So they chose a highly visible location a short, half block from the main road through town and built their church with brick and stone as a statement of permanency.

Following that tradition, members in 1951 constructed a parish building devoted to family education and fellowship. Like the church building, they intended the parish building to be a permanent presence in the life of church families and Wilmette.

Since that time, the sanctuary has been improved and carefully tended to so that it remains a wonderful environment for worship. It’s now time to turn our attention to our remaining facilities—to continue our long history of faith, sacrifice and accomplishment and ensure that our buildings will serve current and future generations.